The Distinguished Alumni Award


Distinguished Alumni Award 2019


The Alumni Executive Committee of The General Theological Seminary is delighted to announce that the Rev. Jorge Juan Rivera-Torres, Class of 1962, is the recipient of the 2019 Distinguished Alumni Award.  As historian at the Diocese of Puerto Rico, his work has kept Anglican/Episcopal history alive, and provided an example of a bridge between the Puerto Rican identity and the Episcopal Church’s ethos and tradition.


Call for Nominations 2020 and 2021

The Alumni Executive Committee is pleased to announce that nominations are now being accepted for the 2020 and 2021 Distinguished Alumni Awards. This annual award is for Seminary degree-holders worthy of special recognition. The award presentations take place during the annual May Alumni Gathering. Nominations must be received by September 1, 2019. The award will be decided by the Alumni Executive Committee at its Fall 2019 meeting.

What does it mean to be an outstanding graduate of The General Theological Seminary? The Close represents many things to those of us who studied here at General. A home for some of us, or a home away from home where we went to be in communion with others striving toward the same goals. It is a place where the serenity and beauty of the grounds are enhanced by the families who live there and the community who makes it come alive. It is also a place where Leaders for the Episcopal Church are formed. The time spent at General has led to fruitful expressions of faith in all parts of the world.

We are proud to stand as a community with all of our brothers and sisters in the General Community. Some efforts are so inspirational however, that we choose to recognize these people of faith with our Distinguished Alumni/ae Award. Past recipients have included exemplars of a broad range of ministry. We have had the privilege of holding up both extraordinarily original, path breaking ministries and extraordinarily faithful, though quiet ministries. Candidates may be put forth on the basis of lifetime achievement, or to honor extraordinary accomplishment that brought credit upon the church and GTS. Nominees may be well-known, but care should be given to identifying inspiring yet unheralded ministries.

We rely on our alumni to select an inspirational example for all of us to receive this honor.

Those submitting nominations must identify themselves by name and GTS class year and provide a daytime phone number and/or email address. For complete information and eligibility requirements please click here, or contact

Past Recipients of the GTS Distinguished Alumni Award

The 2017 Distinguished Alumni Award Winner, The Rev. Steven E. Hulme

The Rev. Steven E. Hulme '59

2017 Winner

The Rev. Steven E. Hulme's long ministry provided leadership in the resettlement and reunification of refugee families in America.

The Rev. Deacon Geraldine A. Swanson '08

2018 Winner

The Rev. Deacon Geraldine A. Swanson has a lifetime of invaluable and continuing contributions to the Episcopal Church's diaconal community.

The 2016 Distinguished Alumni Award Winner, The Rev. Paula M. Jackson

The Rev. Paula M. Jackson '85

2016 Winner

The Rev. Paula M. Jackson has been the Rector of the multicultural Church of Our Saviour/La Iglesia de Nuestro Salvador in Cincinnati, Ohio since 1990.

The 2015 Distinguished Alumni Award Winner, The Very Rev. H. Scott Kirby

The Very Rev. H. Scott Kirby '63

2015 Winner

The Very Rev. H. Scott Kirby's long ministry of service and devotion to the Church has emphasized community outreach and partnership.

The 2014 Distinguished Alumni Award Winner, The Rev. Margaret A. Muncie

The Rev. Margaret A. Muncie, '74

2014 Winner

The Rev. Margaret “Peggy” A. Muncie, along with the late Paige Bigelow, was one of the first women to graduate in the MDiv program at GTS.


2012-13: Brother Clark Berge, '84, Minister General, The Society of St. Francis, Mt. Sinai, New York

2011: The Rev. Dr. Minka Shura Sprague, '78 and '85, St. James Episcopal Church, Jackson, Mississippi, scholar, author, preacher, lecturer, and workshop/retreat leader

2010: The Rev. John L. Kater, '96 Professor Emeritus of Ministry Development, Church Divinity School of the Pacific

2009: The Very Rev. David duPlantier '93 Dean, Christ Church Cathedral, New Orleans LA, Co-founder Jericho Road Housing Project

2008: The Rev. Dr. Marion J. Hatchett '66 and '72, Professor Emeritus, University of the South, School of Theology, Sewanee, Tennessee

2007: The Rev. Canon Elizabeth Geitz '93, Canon for Ministry, Diocese of New Jersey and author of several volumes, including Fireweed Evangelism and The Rev. J. Fletcher Lowe '59 Executive Director, Virginia Interfaith Center for Public Policy

2006: Dr. Henry Carse '94, Director, Kids-4-Peace, St. George's College, Jerusalem

2005: The Rev. Bertram Bennett '75, Priest-in-Charge, St. David's, Bronx, NY and Chair, South Bronx Churches

2004: The Revs. Richard Fabian '70 and Donald Schell '71, Co-founders and co-rectors, St. Gregory of Nyssa, San Francisco